Annual Awards Night 2019

May 13, 2019
Pierce Dargan

Presentation Secondary School Castleisland on Monday 13th May celebrated its Annual Awards Night in St. Johns Hall.

Awards, Medals and Certificates

Students of all ages received awards, medals and certificates, for their hard work and dedication to education, extracurricular activities, school spirit and volunteering efforts.

There was a wide spectrum of achievements noted on the night including:

Student of the Year Award for each year. First Year: Anna McSweeney; Second Year: Laura Walsh; Third Year: Cerys Rider; Fifth Year: Joyce O’Connor; Sixth Year: Aisling Teahan.

Sports Awards Junior: Jane Lawlor; Sports Award Senior: Gemma Kearney

Lourdes Award: Moira O’Leary, Oonagh O’Keeffe, Roisin Downey and Roisin Brosnan.


Subject Award Winners: Gaeilge: Laura Walsh and Eibhlis Brosnan; French: Jessica O’Leary, Joanna Moynihan, Caroline Blanchfield, Saoirse McKenna, Abbie Kelliher, Sarah Mason, Aoife O Leary, Katie Walsh, Aoife Fleming and Alannah O’Leary.

French Exchange: Aiva Herbert, Roisin Brosnan, Marlyn Cahill, Aine Sheehan, Jessica O’Leary, Kayla O’Connor, Emma O’Regan, Nell Nolan, Brid Moriarty and Millie Luck.

Spanish: Siobhan Brosnan,Y5.

Science BT Young Scientist : Siobhan Brosnan, TY., Ellen Dennehy and Cáit O’Mahony.

Stem Awards: Ciara Casey, Katelyn Laide, Jennifer Culloty, Mya Griffin, Anna McSweeney, Neave Tugwell, Annie Moriarty, Nora Anne Hartnett, Rebecca Reidy, Ciara Cahill, Katie Nolan, Sarah Keating, Muireann Walsh, Zara O’Connor, Aine Murphy, Muireann Rahilly, Aoife O’Leary, Julia Curtin, Jessica Riordan and Blathnaid Casey.

Music Award: Hanna Herlihy, Laura Daly and Jessica O’Leary.

Home Economics: Fiona Brosnan, Katie Cotter, Shauna Cronin, Megan Enright, Tara Enright, Hanna Herlihy, Abbie Kelliher, Sophia McGaley, Joanna Moynihan, Amy O’Sullivan, Emma O’Sullivan, Laura Walsh and Amy O’Sullivan.

Digital and ICT Champions: Cáit O’Mahony, Ava Flaherty, Fiona Brosnan, Cara Fleming, Danute Voveryte, Aoife O’Leary, Katie Walsh, Aoife Fleming and Alannah O’Leary.

All-Ireland Linguistics Olympiad Award: Siobhán Brosnan. Caitlin Curtin, and Kelly-Ann Nix.

Enterprise Awards: Emma Keane, Katie Walsh, Ciara Cahill, Aoife O’Leary, Sarah Mason, Blaithnaid Casey, Lauren O’Connor, Áine Murphy, Kelly-Anne Nix and Katelyn Curtin.

Bank of Ireland: Siobhan Brosnan, Eibhlis Brosnan, Ciara Fitzgerald, Aimee O’Connor, Elaine O’Donoghue, Martyna Nowosielska, Laura Fitzmaurice

The Junior Cycle Silver Medal: Siobhán Brosnan,TY. The Leaving Certificate Gold Medal:Anna Lynch.

Sr. Clement Award; Andrea O’Connor. Sr. Rita Award: Rebecca Daly, CEIST Award – Rosie Scanlon.

Seamus Falvey Award: Áine Barry. Notre Dame Award : Alison Ward.

Guest Speakers

There were also many guest speakers on the night including: Anthony Garvey, who officiated in the launch of the 2019 School Year Book; Irish Ladies Rugby Captain and past student Ciara Griffin who spoke passionately about hard work and perseverance; Elaine O’Keeffe from Bank of Ireland and Tomás Hayes from the local Enterprise Board who presented the Enterprise Awards; and Katie Larkin from Astellas who spoke about the importance of women in STEM.

Night Capped Off

The night was capped off by past student, business woman and famous children’s book author Anna McQuinn.

Ms. McQuinn spoke enthusiastically about the opportunities which were presented to her by attending Presentation Secondary School Castleisland, and how the ethos of the school and the pioneering efforts of the Presentation Sisters and the socio-economics of the time guided her to follow her passion and pushed her to be successful.

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *