First Year Debating

November 24, 2022

1X class participated in an in-class debate competition recently. This is the start of our debating module, which progresses into 2nd and 3rd year, culminating in the grand finale in 3rd year where the classes go up against each other.
The motion for debate was ‘All social media should be banned’.
The opposition, consisting of Aibhlinn Matthews, Ella Greaney, Mairéad Allman and Muireann Hickey were the winners over the proposing team, consisting of Leah Griffin, Chloe Collins, Jessie O Keeffe and Erica McGee.
The competition was chaired by Alesha Fitzgerald and the time-keeper was Saoirse Collins.
A great standard was achieved and both teams did themselves proud.